Columbia Basin Watershed Network

Annual General Meeting



Date: April 20, 2018
Location: Creston Hotel, Creston, BC


Voting Members / Group Liaisons:

Laura Duncan, Columbia Basin Water Quality Monitoring Program
Khaylish Fraser, Central Kootenay Invasive Species Society
Bill Thompson, Columbia Lake Stewardship Society
Adam Sutherland, Duhamel Watershed Society
Garth Norris, East Shore Freshwater Habitat Society
Avery deBoer, Friends of Kootenay Lake
Stewart Wilson, Joseph Creek Streamkeepers
Thea Rodgers, Lake Windermere Ambassadors Society
Kat Hartwig, Living Lakes Canada
Shirley Hansen, Mainstreams Environmental Society
Owen Scott, Nakusp and Area Watershed Stewardship
Richard Johnson, Slocan Lake Research Centre

Individual Members in Attendance

Kristina Anderson, Dave Blair, Sarah Breen, Tara Lynne Clapp, Rory Gallaugher, Pierre Johnstone, Lorna Louise, Maggie Romuld, Alan Thomson, Gerry Warner

Voting Members sending Regrets:

Ann Meidinger, Slocan Lake Stewardship Society
Jennifer Yeow, Slocan River Streamkeepers
Susanne Ashmore, BCLSS Society
Gerry Nellestijn, Salmo Watershed Streamkeepers Society
Melissa Fuller, Hawkins Creek Watershed Society
Shari Imada, Blewett Watershed Committee
Chris Hiebert, North Kootenay Lake Water Monitoring Program
Rachel Darvill, Wildsight Golden
Allie Ferguson, Elk River Alliance


1. Meeting was called to order at 2:50pm

2. Chair report presented by Richard Johnson, Vice Chair

a. Highlights
i. 4 webinars hosted, one to come April 25th
ii. Mailchimp newsletters monthly
iii. Website information includes events, grants, news, and resources
iv. CBWN working on collaborative projects with member groups

  • 1. 3 Field trips hosted with groups in Arrow region
  • 2. Recruitment and support of member group participation in Data Hub

iv. CBWN has provided 11 letters of support
v. Two member meetings; one in Nelson in September, one in Creston in April

3. Treasurer report presented by Alan Thomson, Treasurer

  • Fiscal year changed to Dec 31. Society in good financial position
  • Motion to accept financial report, Maggie Romuld moved, Kat Hartwig second. All voted in favor, motion moved and carried

4. New Business
a. Need to transition to new societies act
Resolved that new bylaws be adopted to replace old bylaws
Garth Norris moved, Laura Duncan second. All voted in favor, motion moved and carried

b. Strategic plan
Motion to receive strategic plan
Maggie Romuld moved, Thea Rodgers second. All voted in favor, motion moved and carried

5. Board of Directors Election: Note that terms will change to one year with new bylaws
a. Resigned: Bonnie Harvey and Tanya Tran
b. Completed:: Martin Carver, Natasha Overduin
c. Continuing:
Kat Hartwig
Richard Johnson
Alan Thomson
Maggie Romuld
d. Nominations from the recruiting committee
Thea Rodgers
Tara Lynne Clapp
e. Nominations from the floor – None received
f. Acceptance of nominations
g. Directors presented for election by acclamation
Kat Hartwig
Richard Johnson
Alan Thomson
Maggie Romuld
Thea Rodgers
Tara Lynne Clapp
Motion to accept new board members
All voted in favor

6. Meeting adjourned at 3:21pm